About Us

Cumberland Thunder was formed in November of 2016 in Russell Springs, Kentucky.  With each member coming from a unique stylistic background, the music of Cumberland Thunder is an eclectic mix of old and new, combining to create something never before seen in the Christian music field.

With high energy performances reminiscent of days gone by, Cumberland Thunder is paving a new path forward in today’s music scene. Through moments of encouragement, laughter, and reflection, an evening with Cumberland Thunder is not one you will soon forget.  With each ebb and flow, their concerts take the listener on a journey that ultimately has one goal: don’t leave the same way you came!

The band’s three fold purpose is to bring praise to God, encouragement to the Christian, and the good news of Jesus to the world, all while striving for excellence in their craft.



Meet The Band


Josh Carey

Josh Carey – Lead/Piano


Joshua Tomlin

Joshua Tomlin – Baritone/Guitar


Abigail Tomlin

Abigail Tomlin – Alto/Bass Guitar


Seth Hayes

Seth Hayes – Drums